The song I wrote, “Today,” which ended up being a pretty big song–that song literally saved my life. I was completely suicidal, and I wrote that song in a cold bedroom on a day where it was like, “I’m either going to kill myself today, or I’m going to live because I’m sick of thinking about this.” When I played it, it was an intense, extreme feeling. Last year, I was offered heavy, heavy money to license that song. I actually turned down two huge, huge, seven-figure-plus deals last year for two songs.

At this point, it’s just free money. Song’s already been played. It’s been exploited. The record company’s literally begging me: go ahead and take these commercials. At this point in my life, I don’t feel comfortable. Those songs are the reason I’m alive. If your music is not sacred to the point where it’s a really, really, really heavy decision about whether or not you would allow somebody else to exploit it, then what’s not for sale?

Billy Corgan, Newsweek May 13, 2004.

So, uh, what “really, really, really heavy decision” prompted this? This commercial’s been floating around for a little while now, but in light of this weekend’s news of amazing drummer Jimmy Chamberlin leaving Smashing Pumpkins, maybe it was a pre-emptive attempt to gain some extra cash, since most Pumpkins fans that are left will be jumping ship after this. Chamberlin is no ordinary drummer, and is in fact a major part of the Pumpkins sound. Without him they just are not the same, but I’m looking forward to whatever he comes up with on his own.

Check out Jimmy solo (sound sucks, but just watch him):

